LCL

Making a 3D dynamic model in Scratch

I want to make a dynamic model of the Montessori Trinomial Cube, but I’m not sure how to do this in Scratch. One of the things about the physical Montessori manipulative that bothers me is that it suggests there is a fixed proportionality between the variables. I’m hopeful Scratch would be suitable medium for illustrating otherwise.

Any guidance will be very appreciated, thanks!

Note: to clarify, I want to make a 3d illustration that is dynamic.

Help with Scratch? :smiley_cat:
¿Han usado Scratch, para crear proyectos en 3D?

Maybe Scratch is not the right tool to illustrate that if you want show the 3D models.
I remember that some used minecraft (@Bice_Rapaccini were you?)
Othervise you can use Processing / Java
Maybe you can try also tinkercad just to see if can help you

Thanks for the suggestions for other software and approaches!

When I studied the Montessori apparatus, I built a .xls model that dynamically managed data and calculated the volume of the blocks given other variable sizes, and produced a 2-d rendering which was, as a proof, adequate.

I considered using CAD to model and then print differently proportioned cubes. (Don’t know if one could build the CAD model using variables rather than fixed inputs. I have very limited experience with CAD, and I’m not a programmer.)

My revised question for the community is: Can this possibly be done in Scratch, so that younger students can explore/remix within the Scratch environment?

Thanks

BLOCKSCAD can be the solution for 3D models using variable

Scratch cannot show 3d models (no Z axes) unless you simulate it somehow

With Scratch it could be hard to experiment, I have to think more.
I asked my students for representing and explaining a binomial cube in different way:
Paper
2D Cad
3D Cad
Minecraft ( but I am promoting Minetest in school)
3D printer (they prepared the model with 3d cad)

Here a video:

You need a parametric Cad